Master Plan/Visioning Committee

Mission Statement

At the April 4 RAP meeting committee members attended a Mission Statement Workshop to begin formalizing the DHCS Mission Statement. Upon adoption by the Board of Directors, the statement will be posted to the web.

The Dark Sky Initiative

The DHCS aligns the Driftwood/Onion Creek Valley with Dripping Springs regarding the International Dark Sky Initiative, because we believe it is critical in preserving the environmental natural history in the entire region.


The Wimberley Valley, which encompasses the cities of Woodcreek and Wimberley, was also officially designated the third International Dark Sky Community in Texas on June 11 by the The International Dark-Sky Association (IDA).  For a full article with more information, see the Hays Free Press article from June 20:

 
https://haysfreepress.com/2018/06/20/wimberley-valley-cities-go-dark/ 


The International Dark Sky Association (IDA), a 501(c)(3) non-profit organization based in Tucson, Arizona, advocates for the protection of the nighttime environment and dark night skies by educating policymakers and the public on the subject of night sky conservation and by promoting environmentally responsible outdoor lighting. 

Dripping Springs was recognized by the IDA in 2014 as an International Dark Sky Community, the very first designation in Texas. 


Protecting A Cultural Legacy


“The history and culture of the Hill Country is intimately tied to its sky, particularly its night sky,” explained John Cassidy, President of the Board of Trustees of the Pound House Foundation, a local Dripping Springs historic preservation group. “Whether sitting around a campfire or sitting in the darkness of their homesteads, those who went before us understood this land in a fundamental way that we must preserve. The clear view of the stars at night is a resource that must be saved and passed along to future generations.”


IDA established the International Dark Sky Places conservation program in 2001 to recognize excellent stewardship of the night sky. Designations are based on stringent outdoor lighting standards and innovative community outreach. Since the program began, five communities including Dripping Springs, thirteen parks and five reserves have received International Dark Sky designation.


For more information on the DHCS’s Dark Sky initiative and proper lighting potentials for your home and commercial projects, please go to:

http://darkskysociety.org/handouts/LightingPlanGuidelines.pdf

Purpose and Role of the Committee

The Committee is developing recommendations and guidelines in the form of a planning report that will be used to preserve, improve, inform and influence future development patterns consistent with the greater Driftwood community vision.  


Committee Members


Allison Allen, RAP Liaison, allisonallen@realtyaustin.com

Ray Beets, ray.beets@gmail.com

Rick Brennes, rickbrennes@hotmail.com

Susie Brennes, scbrennes@hotmail.com

David Braun, dbraun@braungresham.com

Linda Brown, bringtheband@yahoo.com

Donna Burns, donnaleeburns@gmail.com

Casey Cutler, caseycutler13700@yahoo.com

Jeff Eichelberger, jkeichelberger@hotmail.com

Venita Fuller, vfullerusa@aim.com

Doug Harrison, doug@urbanspacerealtors.com

John Jones,  john@j1sranch.com

Robin Melanson, crossoaks4@yahoo.com

Kasey Mock, kaseymock@kw.com

Mike Pruitt, mpruitt@swbell.net

Mark Rutledge, mark.rutledge85@gmail.com

Roy Thornton, rtdripping@gmail.com

Nancy Thornton, nttboxer@gmail.com